Minnesota | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Death of Aunt
My aunt died and didn't have a will, what is going to happen with her bank account?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: Death of Aunt That depends.
If there is a joint owner, it goes to the joint owner. If there is a pay on death instruction that she left with the bank, they will give it to whoever she designated.
If it's just in her name, however, with no other advance arrangements, you might have to go to probate court to get someone appointed who can take over her affairs and her bank account.
UNLESS the total of the assets that would be probated is less than $20,000. In that event, there is an affidavit which can be used to collect the asset. They bank may have the form. If they don't, I can prepare that document for you.
Good luck.
This response is not legal advice and is for general informtion purposes. It does not create an attorney-client relationthip. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
763-424-6442
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Felix Law Office, P. A.
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Law Office of Donald W. Kohler
White Bear Lake, MN
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-02
Law Office of Scott M. Dutcher, LLC
Alexandria, MN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-01
Larry B. Stevens & Associates
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Search Questions and Answers


