Mississippi  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
8/22/07, 12:34 am

Legal Question


SSDI being withheld due to WC settlement

My BF's WC claim was finally settled after 4+ yrs. His SSDI was being offset by the monthly WC payments and Child Support arrears.

BF got a lump sum payment from WC. SS will not raise his monthly pay to pre-WC status b/c of the lump sum!? It is as if he is having to pay that $ back to SS. Is this normal?

It doesn't help that SS says they overpaid him...they are ''allowing'' him to pay that off by withholding even more from his pay. Between CS, WC, and the ''overpayment'' payback - his checks will be apprx $75/month instead of, I think, $1050!!?

Is this standard procedure?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search