Legal Question in Consumer Law in Mississippi

Sold jacket for $3000.00 on eBay.

Buyer claimed fake and damaged.

Ebay asked him for unbiased third party documents (i.e. have a store claim it's counterfeit, or a repair shop say it's damaged and cost $x.xx to fix, etc.).

Buyer obtained a document from a Macy's employee.

Ebay took the $3,000 out of my account and gave it back to the buyer since the buyer proved the item was damaged.

Here is the problem:

(1) Macy's would never write such a note - you don't walk off the streets carrying a jacket you bought some where else and tell a Macy's employee it's damaged + counterfeit and to write it on Macy's letterhead and sign it so you get a $3,000 refund

(2) This Macy's employee claimed to be an "expert" and claimed to "deal with this item on a daily basis". (a) this employee works in household goods, not clothing (b) Macy's doesn't even sell the brand name of the jacket

(3) This employee actually lives in the same house the buyer lives in - so this isn't a "unbiased" third party - it's a scam and fraud.

I don't think Ebay is giving my money back... they said we aren't the ones to make false statements; Macy's is. Which I understand, although, Ebay could of done a better job validating the document (didn't bother asking what department the guy worked in). Did contact that Macy's store and report it to their HR department yesterday. But, I am still out of my $3,000.

Not sure what I should do now....

Asked on 8/20/13, 3:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Matusheski Law Offices of Timothy J. Matusheski
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Complain to FTC, and tweet Ebay about your dissatisfaction.

Read more
Answered on 8/21/13, 6:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now