Mississippi  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/07/03, 11:44 pm

alchohol, tobacco & firearms

My daughter who lives in Iowa was recently approached by the atf. They told her she was looking at a conspiracy charge and wanted her to work with them to set up other people. They told her they knew her knowledge was minimal but thought she could help them and herself. They never told her of any specific charges against her.She can't afford an attorney so she wants to wait and see if she is arrested before doing anything. My question is: she wants to leave state and come to MS where we are at and wait and see what happens. Do we need to contact an attorney before she leaves?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/08/03, 11:07 am by Austin Nimocks

Re: alchohol, tobacco & firearms

I wholeheartedly agree with Mr. Pettigrew.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Austin R. Nimocks & Associates, P.L.L.C. Post Office Box 14224 Scottsdale, AZ 85267

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/03, 1:06 pm by Jeffery Navarro

Re: alchohol, tobacco & firearms

I concur with the other opinions given. Moreover, since she is not under arrest, she is free to leave. However, if she does, she may find that warrants will be issued in the future for her, and she would lack any means of "stopping" these charges from being filed. In other words, she is better off dealing with this problem now.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jeffery M. Navarro, Attorney at Law P. O. Box 532 Aberdeen, MS 39730-0532

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/03, 6:56 am by Albert Pettigrew

Re: alchohol, tobacco & firearms

Your daughter should see an attorney immediately for assistance. Under the Constitution she has an absolute right to not incriminate herself. Nevertheless, she and her attorney may still decide that cooperation with ATF may be appropriate in order to protect her family and friends from criminals.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices Ph 228-875-8736 401 Inverness Ct. Ocean Springs, MS 39564

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search