Mississippi  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/08/03, 3:33 am

illegal search

if the police raid and search your house do they have to show you the search warrant

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/08/03, 11:14 am by Austin Nimocks

Re: illegal search

The police only need probable cause to enter your home. Sometimes, probable cause will arise such that obtaining a search warrant cannot be done quickly enough. If exigent circumstances do not exist, the police should obtain a warrant before entering a home. Either way, if you are charged with something, your attorney should look to see if probable cause existed for the search.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Austin R. Nimocks & Associates, P.L.L.C. Post Office Box 14224 Scottsdale, AZ 85267

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/03, 1:10 pm by Jeffery Navarro

Re: illegal search

As the other attorneys have said, it all depends on the facts of the search. However, in most cases, there is a warrant, and you have a right to see it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jeffery M. Navarro, Attorney at Law P. O. Box 532 Aberdeen, MS 39730-0532

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/08/03, 7:10 am by Albert Pettigrew

Re: illegal search

They must have a search warrant in all cases except emergencies where they have information of someone being in imminent danger or a crime being committed essentially in their presence. If a search is performed without a warrant, the officers may not be able to use any evidence resulting from the search, and they may be liable for a constitutional tort. Therefore, a warrant should be delivered during the search. If it was not delivered or you suspect it was based on fabrications or was not authentic, you should also consult an attorney. However, there is probably only a 5% chance of negligence or misconduct.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices Ph 228-875-8736 401 Inverness Ct. Ocean Springs, MS 39564

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search