Mississippi  |  Entertainment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/07/09, 5:00 am

Ageism

I am a well-regarded entertainer. Recently I was hired to play music at a large corporate venue in which they obviously cater to the YOUNG.

I have an agent who represents me...he is older as well (over 60) and is also a highly regarded entertainer. He was told by the corporate boss that he didn't think that ''grandpas'' could do the job. Then I showed up. 50 years oldChinese and a woman ...still a solid entertainer. I was fired and not given a reason, and replaced by a 20 something year old entertainer. I was told that I ''wasn't right for the room,'' although the audience loved me.

It is the corporate bosses' opinion that he only wants YOUNG people to entertain in the room even though the last 6 entertainers that were booked in the room were well-seasoned and well-regarded entertainers(but all over 55). There have been many comments by bosses and staff about ''grandpas'' and old farts and such. Is this considered discrimination? I assume it is a yes, but do we have any recourse as self-employed entertainers? I myself believe that I was let go not only because of age, but because of ethnicity and gender. ( I am a woman ) The entertainment venue was SPECIFICALLY set up to cater to the young&has only young staff.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search