Legal Question in Family Law in Mississippi

What paper work do i need to get custody of my niece. The mother is willing to sign over her rights and give me the baby

Asked on 7/22/09, 12:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

To transfer custody of a child to a person other than a parent requires establishment of either a guardianship or an adoption. Either requires a petition in chancery court.

Read more
Answered on 7/27/09, 1:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now