Legal Question in Family Law in Mississippi

I am a single mother (currently pregnant) with my first child. The babies father was abusive for the first seven months of my pregnancy until I threatened to leave him. At that time, he promised to change begging me not to leave him because he loved me and couldnt live without me. He has since then promised to never again lay his hands on me and is begging me to marry him before the baby is born. If I marry him does he have benefits regarding chances of child custody ending differently if we were to divorce? Im so confused and do not want to marry him if the only reason hes wanting me to marry him is because he thinks he has better chance of getting full custody of my son if we were married before.

Asked on 6/12/13, 6:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Matusheski Law Offices of Timothy J. Matusheski
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not really. The Court will entrust custody to the parent or person that is in the child's best interest.

Read more
Answered on 7/11/13, 5:49 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Mississippi


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now