Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Mississippi

Squatters Rights

We allowed a family after hurricane Katrina to move onto our 42 acres of land, they cleared an area with our permission and put in a well and septic for a trailer. We also live on the land. We did not require a lease at that time, now we hear that they plan on waiting it out and claim 1 acre of our land that we own and pay taxes on. Can they do this??

Asked on 2/21/07, 10:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jan Butler Jan R. Butler
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Squatters Rights

If they claim it as theirs for a period of 10 years, they could own it by "Adverse Possession."

Read more
2/22/07, 11:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now