Missouri | Health Care Law
2/13/01, 10:08 am
Legal Question
Privacy Issue
My 19 year old daughter has need of frequent Pap tests from a local GYN due to numerous abnormal results. Given a family history of cervical cancer, I am always concerned that we stay on top of this condition. Of course, my 19 year old believes she is immune from harm and doesn't care if she gets results. Her physician will NOT release results to me citing privacy issues.
My question is: Does the fact that my daughter allows our insurance to cover all medical claims waive her confidentiality right and doesn't the physician in accepting such insurance assignment accept this waiver of confidentiality?


