Missouri  |  Disability Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 10:37 am

Legal Question


I am currently attending college in Branson, Mo. I attend a very strict, conservative school. I also have Muscualr Dystrophy. I made it very clear when I started attending this school that I was disabled. Well, first, they still made me take a P.E. class, in which I could not do ANY of the activites. That was my freshman year. Now, I am a Junior and have not had many problems since the P.E. class. But when I started this semester I asked the Dean of Work to place me in a work station that would not require standing or other physical activity. I then got placed in an office job, which is fine, only it is on the other side of campus...which is about a half mile from everythng else. So, I started driving my car to work to make it easier for myself. But the administration didn't like where I was parking, so I got my car banned from the campus. While all of this was happening, I told the Dean about my Muscular Dystrophy and that it was difficult for me to walk that long distance and all he said was, "Get a bike." So I did just that. It was even harder for me to ride a bike than walk and it made me be in a lot of pain. About a month after my banning, my bike got stolen. After that, I decided to drive my friends car to and from work (parking legally of course)and continued that for a few weeks. Well, two days ago, I got called into the Dean's office he said I was going to be kicked out of the college at the end of the semester for driving someone elses car while mine was banned. I feel like I have not been accomidated at all from this college. Is there some law against not accomidating people with disabilities? I just feel like I have been discriminated against.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search