Missouri | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Child abuse
I am a Special Education Teacher and have been accused of child abuse after voluntarily admitting my action. I have had the student in my care for 11 years and have been continously bitten, scratched, kicked, pinched, hit, etc. On the day of the incident, I was being scratched and pinched and the student was trying to bite me. At one point the student pinched so hard I pinched them back and left a small bruise. DSS has determined that the incident was child abuse under RSMo Chapter 210. I have requested an appeal of this determination. How long will it be until the appeal happens? Who can attend the appeal? Should I have character witnesses write letters to DSS? What is the entire process of this appeal? Does this appeal look at the entire picture of the situation or just one incident? I am not a child abuser, just a person in a horrifying situation.


