Missouri  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/14/09, 2:35 pm

Legal Question


My partner and I are owners of a small engineering firm. We are registered as a corporation but most contracts require us to make personal guaranties to pay back any loans. My partner and I have both already put $50,000 into the company but things keep getting worse and worse to the point where we may have to close our doors. My understanding is that since our loans are personaaly quaranteed that even if our firm files bankruptcy the bank and others will just come after us. My question is if my wife and I have assets of $500,000 and my share of the debts are $150,000 does it do any good for my wife and I to declare personal bankruptcy?

I appreciate any advice you can provide regarding this issue. Thank you.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search