Missouri | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
They are wanting to repossess our car. But they can not find it. They said that they are going to press charges and put us in jail. Can they do that?
They are wanting to repossess our car. But they can not find it. They said that they are going to press charges and put us in jail. Can they do that?
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
It is highly unlikely that you would go to jail over a civil financial obligation like overdue car payment(s). If you commit fraud, you could be prosecuted, but that is again very unlikely. However, if it is a bill collector or repo company that is threatening to "have you put in jail" they have violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) and possibly the state prohibition agaisnt such tactics. They ( the collector) may owe you money now.
Good luck |
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-08-23
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-30
► Car is going to be repossessed soon, but they are having problems locating the car I...
► Hi Again! I just sent a request regarding a name change and when I selected an area...
► My sister has been incarcerated since april of this year. she gave power of attorney...
► My sister has been incarcerated since april of this year. she gave power of attorney...
► How do i get a court order to have a woman release my sisters personal property?
► Can a university require all freshman to take an alcohol and drug prevention course...
► I recently bought a vehicle from a dealership and at time time it would not pass...
More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Missouri| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press