Missouri  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/16/00, 4:24 pm

Legal Question


Credit Cards reimbursment

I recently had a credit card with a bank from Missouri, after paying off the account I was notified tha I still owed over $300. This was an error and after sending a copy of my bank statement they issued a check for the amount they owed me. They sent duplicate checks, I cashed them both. Now they have reinstated my account(which had been closed for 6 months) and are charging me numerous fees accordingly. What are my obligations to them?


question bubble
11/14/00, 12:04 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Credit Cards reimbursment

The credit card company may not violate their agreement with you to "reinstate" your account. Their collection efforts may be in violation of federal law and Texas law. If you wish to discuss this matter further contact me at 1-877-320-5232

James Grissom

Law Office of James P. Grissom 3507 West Alberta Rd. Edinburg,, TX 78539

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/14/00, 5:05 am

Legal Answer


Re: Credit Cards reimbursment

They cannot "reinstate" a properly closed account without your permission.

You, however, owe them $300 as it was not proper for you to cash the second check.

Communicate with them and work it out to avoid a negative credit report impact.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search