Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Is my new husband also responsible for my debts owed before we were married?
Recently I got married to a wonderful man who has perfect credit. My credit is not so perfect. I have a past due hospital bill from a emergency apendectomy from before we were married. The hospital will not take anything but the full payment because of how deliquent my bill is. They said if I don't come up with the money by the 31st of this month they have no choice but to take legal action. Can my husband be held responsible for the debt even though it was there before we were married? And if so will it hurt his credit? And is there any way we could keep it off of his credit report? And how much personal information should I give theses bill collectors over the phone? Thank you.


