Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
on the Today Show they have an financial expert named Jean Chatzy. She stated one time that if a bank bought out your credit card bank, that you were not legally bound to the new bank for the amount you owed the original one. Is this true.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
The statemetn you refer to is a gross overstatement, at least as it applies to Missouri residents. There are time that one can successfully defenda a suit by the purchaser of theri previous creditor. If your loan agreement does not confer the right to the successors of the lender, then you can defend a suit by a purchaser. This can be expensive to do. If they allege that you owe less than $5,000.00 then you may spend more than the alleged debt to defend just such a suit. If they allege more, then it might be worth spending $4,000 or so to not have to pay more than $5,000 to the purchaser. Unfortunately, many people agree to lona arrangements whe3re they are liable to the lender for its legal fees if they collect a debt agaisnt you, but do not insist that the lender agree to the pay the borrower's legal fees if the suit is unsuccessful.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Jonathan D. McDowell
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Tad K. Morlan, Attorney at Law
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


