Missouri | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was arrested for trespassing after being kicked out and trying to re enter. Do I need an attorney for this? What plea should I enter? Also, is this something I can deal with out of court? Thanks.
Legal Answer
You are smart to consult with attorneys about this potentially troublesome case. I usually do not reccomend going it alone against the prosecutor. You do not yet know what theyt are seeking. If cost is an issue, then perhaps you can contact the prosecutor, (often a half hour before your case is called) and see what kind of deal they might offer you. If you do not like it, then ask for a continuance, and anc consult direclty with an attorney about how to handle your particular case. If you don't think you will ever have to fill out a job application in the future, then you might be okay pleading guilty and paying a fine. Otherwise, you need to find out al the nuances of wht this conviction might bring, before deciding to save a dollrs and facing the court without an attorney. Many attorneys offer free or samll fee initial face-to-face consultation.
Good luck
LawSmith P.O. Box 2336 Lee's Summit, MO 64063
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
I assume you have already been charged and have a court date. If so, dealing with this out of court is not an option. I would suggest you plead not guilty and contact an attorney. If the trespass allegedly occurred in a commercial area, you could be banned from that area. You could also face a fine and possibly probation. I prefer my clients not have a trespass charge on their records, as it does not help with future employment. Feel free to email me if you want to discuss your options.
Sean Santoro/Licensed in KS and MO/ sean@roadlawyer.net
Santoro Law Office P.O. Box 455 Bonner Springs, KS 66012
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
As the previous responses have stated, you should hire an attorney. An attorney can help protect your legal rights in this matter, and hopefully avoid any conviction being entered on your record that would potentially harm you in a variety of ways. If you are in the St. Louis area, I would be happy to speak with you. Feel free to give me a call at the office.
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law 200 South Bemiston (307) St. Louis, MO 63105
► Other answers from this attorney

