Missouri | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was notified today that I have been issued a summons for 3rd degree assault and I do not have any idea what the charges are in regards to. The summons was mailed to my old address in Missouri, which I have not been living at for the past month. What should I do? I am supposed to appear in court on December 1, 2009? Please help.
Legal Answer
I would suggest that you hire at attorney to represent you on this charge. If you do not show up in court on your court date (unless your attorney can appear for you) a warrant will be issued for your arrest. That warant will stay in the law enforcement data banks forever, so you would be subject to arrest at any time. Your attorney can quickly find out the nature of the charges and if there has been some error, perhaps mistaken identity, then your attorney may be able to have the charges dismissed. Or, if there is sufficient evidence to possibly convict you the attorney may be able to negotiate a plea bargain that would avoid a conviction, avoid jail, and perhaps even avoid fines being imposed by the court. Please do not put this off. An attorney will need all of the time he can get to help you. If you are not able to hire an attorney at this time, you should appear at your court date, enter a plea of "not guilty" and request a continuance in order to get an attorney. Good luck.
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law 200 South Bemiston (307) St. Louis, MO 63105
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
I would suggest you hire an attorney, as conviction on this charge can subject you to jail, fines, a conviction on your record, and possible ramifications in a civil action. If you do not hire an attorney before your court date, be sure to appear and request a continuance to a new court date so you can speak with an attorney. Feel free to email me if you want to discuss your options.
Sean Santoro/Licensed in KS and MO/ sean@roadlawyer.net
Santoro Law Office P.O. Box 455 Bonner Springs, KS 66012
► Other answers from this attorney

