Missouri | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was released from prison and put on parole back in April of 2009 for Possession, DWI & driving while revoked. I have been having severe depression, post traumatic syndrome (due to prison) and panic attacks ever since I was released.
I was sent to Kreamer Rehabilitation Center for 84 days (approx. end of Feb. 2009). While incarcerated I was treated for depression and saw a psychiatrist at Kreamer
On October 30, 2009 I saw my doctor who informed me that I suffer from post traumatic syndrome, severe depression and chronic anxiety disorder. He prescribed me a generic medication, i.e. Xanax (Alprazolam).
I can not sleep since I was released from incarceration. I can only sleep maybe an hour or two and wake up and have to smoke a cigarette because I can't stop worrying. Eventually I can go to sleep later on for another hour or so and wake up with panic attacks again. This has been going on, as I mentioned, since April after my release.
I was getting so little sleep I finally relapsed hoping it would knock me out and I could finally get some sleep. But to no avail. My wife arrived home and mybreathing became labored and in a panic she called 911. I was taken to the hospital emergency room by ambulance.
I now must to report to my parole officer as to why the police arrived with the ambulance.
What should I tell my parole officer so I do not have to go back to prison. I was informed by the hospital that the medication I previous prescribed on the 10/30/09 by my doctor was the incorrect medication and unless used in conjuction with an antidepressant it would actually increased my depression. The hospital psychiatric doctor and nurse referred me to a psychiatrist for follow up on my diagnosis.
What and how do I explain to my parole officer so I do not have to return to prison?


