Missouri  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 4:55 pm

Legal Question


I am a waiter at a Mexican restaurant. I feel that I have been racially discriminated against and just want to know where I stand. It's really not a big deal but it strongly hurts my pride and my feelings. At work I am one of two Caucasian people working, the rest are hispanic, mostly family. Of the waiter staff there is one hispanic waiter who is not in any way related to the owners. So here is the situation I was yelled at for not paying for my food when I eat there, the only reason I did not pay for my food was because I saw this hispanic waiter never had to pay for his food. When I said to the general manager that I don't mind paying for my food as long as its fair and the hispanic waiter also has to pay for his, he said he would tell him to start paying. So today I went in and asked the cook to make me a salad, he told me that I have to put in an order on ticket to get it because the general manager told him so. So I did, no problem... but then I saw the hispanic waiter just walk in and start making himself food I asked the cook why he didn't have to make a ticket, and the cook told me that the general manager said he didn't have to. Is this racial discrimination? Is there a real case or worth my time to pursue this case?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search