Missouri  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
11/08/09, 8:41 pm

Legal Question


My friends and I are considering renting out a picnic shelter in Castlewood State Park for the day. We were going to have a big party/barbeque and charge admission for the purpose of raising money for a charity. If someone were to get hurt or cause trouble, could we be held legally responsible?


question bubble
11/14/09, 7:46 pm

Legal Answer


Yes. Under the circumstances you described, you could be held both criminally an d civilly liable for njuries that an invitee sustained while at your event. Perhaps the charity has an insurance policy that would cover this evnet, as far as your civil liability.

Good luck

Anthony Smith

LawSmith P.O. Box 2336 Lee's Summit, MO 64063

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search