Missouri  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/20/09, 9:51 am

Legal Question


Is there and age in Missouri where a child can choose which parent to live with?


question bubble
9/20/09, 12:13 pm

Legal Answer


No, not in the sense that the child's preference would change any court order regarding custody of that child.

Michael R. Nack

Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law 200 South Bemiston (307) St. Louis, MO 63105

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/20/09, 12:32 pm

Legal Answer


A child never decides. A judge may consider a child's preference in determining how custody should be awarded but there are several factors that a judge considers and the preference of a child may only be one factor. But either the parents decide by agreement or if they can't agree, a judge will decide. My strong suggestion is for the parents to try hard to work out an agreement themselves because it keeps them in control of their child's life. If parents have a hard time coming to an agreement they may choose to attend mediation. A mediator will facilitate an agreement by being a neutral third-party. Mediation is a less expensive alternative to litigating the matter in front of a judge and it keeps the parents in control by allowing them to reach an agreement on their own terms. My firm offers family mediation services. Please search my firm name and find our website for our contact information. I am not allowed to post my phone number in this forum.

Jennifer Greene

Greene & Taylor LLC 2921 Lemay Ferry Road St. Louis, MO 63125

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search