Missouri | Family Law
Legal Question
I understand that inheritance is considered seperate property in a divorce, but how does that work where that inheritance was used towards buying the marital house?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
If one takes theri individual inheritance and uses it as part of the funds to purchase a marital home, those funds may have become marital property subject to division in divorce. If you had inherited the home itself, and then let yoru wife move in, it might have been different. but, it appears that the home is maritla property without any consideration of the source of the purchase funds. Of course, your divorce attorney may find facts that could alter that determination.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Barbara E. Hecht, P.C.
North Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-03
The Umstattd-Cope Law Firm, LLC
Joplin, MO
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-30
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Hensley & Nicholas
Joplin, MO
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


