Legal Question in Family Law in Missouri

I am currently writing a book about a boy with two (gay) dads, but his biological mother has custodial rights. I was wondering if there was a way for his dad's partner to obtain guardianship of the boy in the case of his biological father's death, or if his mother would be the automatic caretaker of him.

Asked on 9/15/13, 1:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Unless she has already been adjudged unfit, the mother would retain custody of the child. His father's boyfriend would be behind all four grandparents, aunts and uncles.

Read more
9/15/13, 8:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now