Missouri | Health Care Law
HIPAA and Dr.Office violation by employee
The receptionist at our very small town's OB-GYNs office told quite a few people about my daughter having an abortion in college. She had always been rude to me at Volleyball games, Im assuming because my daughter got Captain over her daughter.
Three days after the procedure my friends were at my door offering there support and asking about her and how she was doing, and how she was feeling mentally and physically. I was totally freaked out. This woman attends my church, where my first cousin is pastor, has been known to be a town gossip, yet my family had never been the target of her tounge.
Im adopted and do not believe in this R vs. W yet, I chose to be neutral and not take part, to live w/ it, her father handled it all. I believe only in adoption in this type situation.
Now my question is, this happened 4 years ago, & I have an appt with the office next week, I dont want to do anything that might hurt this very fine Dr. who knows nothing about this. Is there any legal recourse against this employee ? I assumes, but dont know, if there were something legal, I would have to include his office in the suit, or should I simply warn him, this could hurt him in future? please advise


