Missouri  |  Health Care Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/26/09, 1:39 pm

Medical records

Can a former doctor withhold your medical records from a new doctor until the balance of what is owed is paid off? I am currently making payments on the balance.

1 Answer


Answered on: 1/26/09, 2:42 pm by Anthony DeWitt

Re: Medical records

No. That is unethical. Report him to the Missouri Board for the Registration of the Healing Arts and tell them that he is jeopardizing your health care by refusing the records request. You will get your records.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC 715 Swifts Highway Jefferson City, MO 65109

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

174 Answers given in the last few hours.

7528 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search