Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Missouri

I filed a Petition for Rent and Possession with the Missouri Civil court. The court date was today. The renters (who haven't paid rent since January) requested "a trial", even though they admitted to the judge that they have not paid rent. Why would the judge grant them a trial?

Asked on 3/05/13, 11:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is common. The judge took what the defendnats said as "I owe something, but not what the plaintiff alleges." Thus he set it for trial next week.

Good luck

Read more
Answered on 3/05/13, 6:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now