Missouri | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
i am staying with a friend she is trying to kick us out we have recieved mail there so it is our offical place of residence can she kick us out with out any notice if not how long do they have to give us
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
If you are paying rent, then they must file a rent and possession Petition. This can take soem time. If you are nto paying rent, then they must give you three days notice and then file an unlawful detainer action. Once you ar eserved, the case will be set for a docket call. If you dispute your friend's claim that you do not have right to live there, then the court will set the case for trial about a week later. Depending upon the time fo year, it can take about 20 to 45 days from the day you are given the notice to move out until the court orders you to leave. You did not indicate why you are staying longer than your friend wants you to.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
The Smalley Law Firm, LLC
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Beckermann Law Firm, LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-23
The Law Office of Brian P. Baltzell
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


