Missouri | Personal Injury
Legal Question
What is the liability to the owner of a vehicle that is being driven by another party from time to time?
The other party is named on the insurance as a driver of the vehicle.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
It would be remiss to say that the owner of a vehicle has no liability. If the car were to slip its clutch or emergency brake, roll down a hill and injure someone or damage property, the owner could be held liable. However, if an insured person is driving a vehicle, that person's insurer would most likely defend any suits brought on account of that driver's actions or omissions. That might include forgetting to set the parking brake, allowing the car to roll down a hill causing damage.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Harvath Law Offices-INJURY case representation
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Stevens Law Firm
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
McLeod & Heinrichs
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 53
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-26
Search Questions and Answers


