Missouri | Product Liability
Legal Question
My husband had a b/k amputation on Jan. 4th, 2009 due to an infection and diabetes. He was fitted for a prosthetic leg shortly after. He received it in February and was released to wear it once the incision was completely healed. That ended up being in June. He wore it pretty much problem free until mid August. One day when we were shopping his prosthetic leg broke without any warning, just broke in two. He landed on his hands, with no major damage but it was a humiliating experience as he had to sit in the middle of the store while I went and got an electric wheelchair. This was on a Saturday and first thing Monday morning he brought his leg (in 2 pieces) back to the prosthetic company and they repaired it immediately. He had no problems until 2 weeks later. I don't know if what happened next had anything to do with this first incident. But somehow the screw that holds the device together worked its way up through the rubber part of the leg and to my husband's stub. My husband doesn't have a great deal of feeling because of neuropathy but this screw had created about a quarter sized abrasion. Unfortunately this abrasion left his skin open, which caused infection, which led to 8 days in the hospital, another surgery, 6 or more weeks of iv antibiotic, and a wound vac....not to mention potential months and months of being back on crutches, without work or pay. I am certain that we have a case but where do we start?


