Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Missouri

I'm buying a house for sale by owner. It was for sale threw an auction by the owner and was not a forclosure. They just wanted to sell fast. We put 10% down at the time of the auction and agreed to close in 30 days. When we signed the purchase agreement it was dated for 10/4/2014 instead of 10/4/2013. Because the the government shutdown it will take about 3 week longer then the 30 days. Seller wants us to pay him additional $1000 and not take it off the purchase price. Is the fact that the purchase agreement was date wrong going to help me. Buyer said he will keep the 10% that we put down. I'm in missouri.

Asked on 10/26/13, 10:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If the seller insists on closing within thirty days, they will have to return the deposit. The wrong date on the paperwork, might work in your favor.

Good luck

Read more
10/26/13, 7:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now