Missouri  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/19/09, 5:57 pm

Legal Question


Prior to signing a lease, can I see the current tenant's contract exit date to ascertain

when I could move in. We had a movein date of 8/15/09 and the cu

rrent tenant had an exit date of 8/16/09. The manager said i

t wasn't her fault


question bubble
8/19/09, 6:16 pm

Legal Answer


Perhaps instead of asking if you are entitled to view the prior tenants lease, you and the landlord can discuss any compensation the landlord might owe to you if he failed to turn over possession of the property to you as stated in YOUR lease. You lease operates as an agreement between you and your landlord that describes the terms of the agreement that you BOTH would be obligated to fulfil. I don't know from what you have described what the landlord's obligation was and if you sustained any losses. I'm mearly suggesting that you try and focus on the real issue whether or not you ever get to see the prior tenants lease.

Jennifer Greene

Greene & Taylor LLC 2921 Lemay Ferry Road St. Louis, MO 63125

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search