Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Missouri

I was renting a duplex for about 4 years, i moved out this past February and now my land lord is trying to get $3000 from me for carpet and vinyl. The morning after new years she was at the duplex to do a home inspection and mentioned nothing about the house being in poor condition. Someone had moved in directly after me and she had not replaced the carpet or vinyl. Over the years i have asked her to fix several things in that housethat she never did going from the leaking roof, black mold, a bad air conditioning unit(which is still not fixed, i know the person living there) and the water that gets built up under the house. Those are just a few of the major things she was told about several times and never fixed. Whe she came for the home inspection she had told me she was closing her bank account, so she would be coming to pick my rent up ($595 a month, all others on the block are about $425) she lives in las vagas and had told me about it severa days befor, then gave me only a 12 hour notice to say she was going to do a property check which consisted of her standing in the livingroom for 5 minuts while her husband walked into the bathroom taking the money saying everything was fine and leaving. The month after she asked if i had rent, i informed her that i did but i didnt not know where to put it, she told me to just deposite it into her account as normal. This was very odd to me. By the end of February i had some financial problems and could no longer afford to stay i gave her proper notice and was out by the end of the month. She got very unprofessional with me threatening that i caused $3000 worth of damage, when i asked for what she said she had to paint the walls, replace the lock on the sliding back door, and the carpet and vinyl. All of these things i believe are natural wear and tear and my deposite that i didnt get back should cover. She was aware i had an 80lb american bull dog and a cat which i paid $150 each for befor moving in. Her father also does all the labor, and at one point tried to get my boyfriend to help him lift a water heater in to install(it was not installed properly as far as what the guy from lowes said needed to be done, he was sent over to check it befor her father came to put it in) the carpet was 72 cents a sq ft and the vinyl was around $13 per sheet. When i moved in i told her the flooring was floating when the heat or air was used, she said it would weigh down with time, it never did, she never did anything about it, therefor whe my washer and dryer was installed, the people puttin it in ripped, and while moving my kitchen table it tore like paper. On monday she texted me and said i could call and negotiate about the $3000,i refused, she said she was filling out court papers, this onley emerged after the current tenet told her he was moving out. I dont believe she is being reasonable and need to know what grounds she has to stand on, cand she honestly sue me for natural wear and tear (nothing exsessive) and win. Ashley, springfield, mo

Asked on 6/20/12, 10:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Stevens The Stevens Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

generally tenants are not responsible for ordinary wear so the question is whether there exists damage exceeding that

Read more
Answered on 6/20/12, 12:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now