Missouri | Traffic Law
Legal Question
missouri hit and run. i read about something that stated if you hit something and run as long as nobody is hurt and there is not damage over the felony amount which is $1000 then you dont have to contact the police or fill out a police report. is that true.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
If two drivers' vehicles collide and one wants to have an officer come to the scene to start of reprot file, and an officer arrives after the other driver has left, that office might issue a cittaion to that absent driver. Once the ticket cam up for prosecution is when the relative value of the damage, echange of information and time before leaving come into play. If one driver strikes and inannimate object with their vbehicle, they may have duty to report it, depending upon who owns or maintains the object. Fleeing without reproting could result tin criminal and/or civil liability. Take for istance someone whose car pushes a stop sign flat, and that driver leaves withotu informing anyone. Some time later another dirver does nto see astop sign, and strikes another vehicle. Teh fleeign driver coudl be cited for destructin of property, failure to oby aposted sign, fleeing the scene. They maight also lose a civil suit filed against them by everyone harmed in the action afterward.
Good Luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
The Guilfoil Law Group, L.L.C.
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 69
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-08
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Umstattd-Cope Law Firm, LLC
Joplin, MO
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-30
Curran Law Firm
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-10
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
Search Questions and Answers


