Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Missouri

I am the power of attorney for my mother. She has a Durable Power of attorney document. I had to place her in a nursing home because of alzhemiers. She went in the nursing home pending medicaid . She owns nothing her only income is social security. They nursing home received all but $40.00 a month. Medicaid approved her but would not pay her first month of nursing home cost. Now the nursing home is coming after me for the cost of that month and medical cost. Am I obligated as the Power of Attorney for those cost. Thank you!

Asked on 6/08/13, 1:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. Not unless you signed something that makes you liable.

Read more
6/08/13, 2:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now