Hi. I am a Missouri injury attorney that focuses my work almost exclusively on workers' compensation claims and handles matters throughout most parts of the state. I am sorry to hear about your injury and I know that back issues can be painful and can interfere with your daily activities to a large extent.
The distance that they can require you to drive in order to provide a position for you will be determined, at least partially, by whether the doctor places any restrictions on your ability to drive. A few additional details would be needed to determine whether your employer is required to provide a position for you when you are able to return. Is the company requiring you to use FMLA time? If not, are they paying you every week that you miss work, as they are required to under the Missouri workers' compensation laws?
Under the Missouri laws, in addition to payment for the time missed from work due to your injury, you are also entitled to a lump sum settlement, which can be significant with a back injury, if the doctor determines that you have any continuing, or long-term disability or restrictions. Also, are you seeing only the doctors that the inusrance company is referring you to, or are you also seeing some doctors of your own choosing?
The workers' compensation laws have a lot of requirements built into them, and you can limit your ability to recover all the compensation that you are entitled to if the requirements are not complied with.
In order to determine whether you are entitled to a lump sum settlement, and what would happen if you cannot return to work, a bit more detail is needed. There are three major types of benefits that you are entitled to whenever you incur a work injury, and I am not sure if you are receiving all the benefits. Also, remember that the employer needs to pay for all of your treatment and reimburse you for travel expenses.
I can be reached, for your conveneince, at mth2000@yahoo.com. Thanks.
NOTE: This answer is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The use of this site does not create an attorney-client relationship or privilege between the user and the attorney responding.