Montana  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/22/01, 1:39 pm

Legal Question


Trademark mode or manner

I had several state mark applications returned because:

''The mark registrations do not conform because Line #4 must show a specific mode or manner in which the mark issued in connection with the goods and services. You may list the mode or manner as advertising, labels, business cards, signs etc.''

Searching the internet reveals that federal mark applications no longer require this information and othher states apparently use the same basic model law and application forms.

I am unable to find a discussion, explanation or recommendation regarding '' mode or manner''.

My specific mark applications were for:

Trademark - Logo for Clothing

Service Mark - Outdoor Recreation ''Brand?''

Service Mark - Local Internet Portal Name

Thanks for the assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search