Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Nebraska

collection agency/wrong address

I get many collection notices for someone who lived in the house I now own,she hasn't lived here in over 8 years.I try to return to sender but they keep coming.Sometimes I am so frustrated I open them and call the agency to politely tell them to stop sending to me.This happened again today and a very rude man on the other end told me that since I opened mail addressed to someone else,I have now assumed the responsibility for her (considerable) debt.I tried to explain that the return to sender seems to do no good,and was only trying to be helpful to this collection agency,but he insists that I now have to pay this debt.He is full of s**t,isn't he?

Asked on 1/28/09, 7:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: collection agency/wrong address

Yes, he is. You do not assume responsibility for a debt by opening mail. I would make a complaint with the FTC (you can find a complaint form on-line at www.ftc.gov)

Read more
Answered on 1/29/09, 10:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Nebraska

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now