Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Nebraska

bill collectors

I was in need of some advice,I have been getting phone calls of an online loan i took in sept.I shut my account down and have this loan to pay off.I am willing to work out anything with these people,and not just ignoring the situation,but they call me at work alot,threatening me with filing criminal lawsuit,and with limited means,I am willing to pay 50.to settle this matter,but to them it is not feasible,I am wondering as long as I make payments,and it shows I am trying,will I go to prison and end up paying thousands of dollars as they say...please help..respectively--

Asked on 11/18/06, 12:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Mahoney Anderson LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: bill collectors

If it is a 3rd party collection, they may be in violation of Federal law. I need to review your contract to advise.

Read more
Answered on 11/18/06, 1:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Nebraska

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now