Nevada | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Can a person that has filed a police report and a criminal case has been filed by the DA, asked to have the charges dropped if the problem has been reconciled 6 months later?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Smith |
A person can always ask to have charges dismissed or request a dismissal from the prosecutor. However, the prosecutor has discretion to go forward despite the request as the prosecutor has a duty to the public to regulate crime and bring about justice. Often the alleged victim wants to drop the case because of a close relationship with the alleged perpetrator, e.g., domestic violence victims, but the prosecutor has a duty to nevertheless go forward with the prosecution as his or her duty is to the public and not to the victim alone. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Fischer Sanders, LLP
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 76
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Carr Law Office
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Search Questions and Answers


