Nevada | Bankruptcy
7/16/09, 11:04 pm
Legal Question
Chapter 7 Bankruptcy
Can a line of credit from B of A be part of a Chapter 7 bk?
Chapter 7 Bankruptcy
Can a line of credit from B of A be part of a Chapter 7 bk?
|
Read More Answered By: James Smith |
Re: Chapter 7 Bankruptcy All debts have to be listed in any bankruptcy. This would include any line of credit. |
|
Read More Answered By: Dorothy Bunce |
Discharge of Line of Credit I think your question is "Can you eliminate a line of credit loan in a Chapter 7?" Of course, the law requires that you list all your debts in your bankruptcy.
If the line of credit is secured by your home or other real estate (often known as a HELOC), you can eliminate the debt in a Chapter 7 only if you don't keep the property. To keep the property, you have to pay the debt.
However, you could eliminate this line of credit in a Chapter 13 through a process called lienstripping. For more information about lienstripping, go to www.lienstripping.com.
If the debt is not tied to any property, then of course it can be discharged in a Chapter 7, subject, of course, to the usual rights the creditor may have to object to the Bankruptcy, such as fraud, if the line of credit was recently acquired or used, or other issues that creditors have the right to raise.
Hope this helps! |
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 330
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
► Assignment for the Benefit of Creditors Is assignment for the benefit of creditors a...
► Ch 7 Reaffirmation I am going to file CH 7 in Nevada. I have been told by my...
► Motion to stay i could not afford my payments on a car i gotten after my...
► Reaffirmation of Home in Bankruptcy Filed chapter 7 bankruptcy in May 2009. Stated...
► Bankruptcy What good is filing ch.13 to remove a 2nd Mortgage, if the Lien against...
► Bankruptcy Can I file bankruptcy myself?
► Discharge I won in small claim court and I have started the wage garrnishment two...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Nevada| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press