Nevada  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
6/17/09, 1:24 am

Legal Question


Reaffirmation of Home in Bankruptcy

Filed chapter 7 bankruptcy in May 2009. Stated in BK paperwork I would reaffirm my home loan and car loan. Both loans are current. I was told by paralegal that bankruptcy courts do not recognize home reaffirmation agreements, so there was no need to sign one. Also, my lender, Countrywide has stated that they don't do reaffirmations. I thought this was a requirement of the bankruptcy courts in order to keep your property. Isn't it helpful to have a home loan on your credit report after bankruptcy to start rebuilding your credit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search