Nevada | Business Law
Legal Question
Deposited two party check
We are general contractors and accepted a check made out to us and a supplier. (written ''us and them'') The check was signed by us and deposited into our bank and we continued on with work. We were contacted by the owner and told we had committed fraud; we immediately paid the supplier (as we always intended). We were not instructed by the issuer that both parties had to sign the check or that we were to split the check in any way and did not intend to defraud. Also, the bank honored the checks. We are very worried if there are ramifications even though we paid off the supplier. This was our first experience with a check written in this manner.


