Nevada  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/07/10, 8:00 pm

Legal Question


I have been served with a civil lawsuit for credit card debt for a business that closed in 2008. I have filed my response within the 20 days. Should I appear before the judge when the court date is set? The lawyer who assisted me in preparing my answer said not to appear, just let them get the judgment. I wanted to appear to show the judge that I have been trying to settle this debt for over a year and I have had 3 other creditors settle for what I am offering this creditor. Should I appear or not? Any suggestions of what is going to happen next would be appreciated. This is for a business debt, but they are going after me personally, as there was a personal guarantee on the credit card.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search