Re: how is the draft legal?
See Selective Draft Law Cases, 245 U.S. 366 (1918). The Court's analysis, in full, of the Thirteenth Amendment issue raised by a compulsory military
draft was the following: ''As we are unable to conceive upon what theory the exaction by government from the citizen of the performance of his supreme and noble
duty of contributing to the defense of the rights and honor of the nation, as the result of a war declared by the great representative body of the people, can be said
to be the imposition of involuntary servitude in violation of the prohibitions of the Thirteenth Amendment, we are constrained to the conclusion that the contention
to that effect is refuted by its mere statement.'' Id. at 390. While the Supreme Court has never squarely held that conscription need not be premised on a
declaration of war, indications are that the power is not constrained by the need for a formal declaration of war by ''the great representative body of the people.''
During the Vietnam War (an undeclared war) the Court, upholding a conviction for burning a draft card, declared that the power to classify and conscript
manpower for military service was ''beyond question.'' United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968). See also United States v. Holmes, 387 F.2d 781,
784 (7th Cir. 1968) (''the power of Congress to raise armies and to take effective measures to preserve their efficiency, is not limited by either the Thirteenth
Amendment or the absence of a military emergency''), cert. denied 391 U.S. 956.