Nevada  |  Construction Law

question bubble
11/10/08, 7:29 pm

Legal Question


Release of Lien

I am a Subcontractor that entered into a contract with a General Contractor on a Commercial project. There is a balance owed on this project but the General refused to pay. I liened the property and now he wants the lien released for partial payment (75% of what is owed). He states that he is holding the 25% as security against repairs and also retention.

He will not pay the 75% WITHOUT my releasing the lien so my question is can I release the lien, collect the 75% and the re-record the lien for the balance owed?

If not, what other options do I have under NV law?

Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search