Nevada | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
credit card debt
If you haven't paid your credit card debt, can the credit companies garnish your wages or any part thereof?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Re: credit card debt A lawsuit must be filed against you in order for a court to issue wage garnishments directed to your employer. Most wage garnishments on credit cards stem from default judgments or ill-advised "settlements" admitting liability.
I have posted several times in this forum that credit card lawsuits are, in many cases, completely defensible under Nevada law, if a timely response is filed and properly served. My office just obtained a voluntary dismissal of a $14,000 credit card lawsuit, even after a so-called "arbitration award" was rendered by NAF, the National Arbitration Forum. The costs of the defense were under $3,000.
If you do not properly defend and a default judgment is rendered against you, you can lose your money and property through official Court post-judgment collection process.
Your attorney, if and when you hire one, can explain further. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
David Otto & Affiliates, PC
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 159
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Attorney at Law
Lake Tahoe, NV
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


