Nevada  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 2:35 am

Legal Question


Hello,

I was arrested and charged with giving false information after two security guards in a Las Vegas casino apporached me asking for my ID. I mistakenly had another persons Green Card in my wallet and in the commotion and uncertainty I gave the imppression that I was this other person. They subsequently had me ejected and banned from the hotel, next the metro police took me down to the station with the charge of giving faqlse information. What can I expect to happen when I attend my scheculed court date? Do I need a lawyer and is this a serious offense?

Thank you.


question bubble
11/22/09, 11:38 am

Legal Answer


I would recommend getting an attorney as using someone else's green card for identification is a serious offense. I do not know what the circumstances were during which security asked you for identification and I do not know what your immigration status is but you may be looking at jail time. It does not help that you pretended to be that person after security looked at your identification. Giving the id by mistake may be a lame excuse to many judges and INS.

James Smith

James E. Smith Ltd. 7251 W. Lake Mead Blvd., Suite 300 Las Vegas, NV 89128

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search