Nevada  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 2:17 pm

Legal Question


My ex husband has been in and out of prision 4 times in 7 yrs. He has never paid child support and I just want to revoke his parental rights. Can i petiition the courts myself, and if so how do i get started? If not, how much would it likely cost to have it done? I hate the idea of spending alot of money on someone who has never been there for his children


question bubble
11/22/09, 11:34 am

Legal Answer


You can file a Petition To Terminate Parental Rights in family court. Different attorneys charge different amounts depending on if the matter is contested or uncontested and how hard it is to serve your ex with paperwork. You are probably looking at about $2,000 if it is uncontested and $4,000 if contested.

James Smith

James E. Smith Ltd. 7251 W. Lake Mead Blvd., Suite 300 Las Vegas, NV 89128

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search